Annual NYCC Employee Recognition Luncheon Held at Gould Hotel

Seneca Falls: A number of New York Chiropractic College employees recently gathered at The Gould Hotel in Seneca Falls for a luncheon to honor current members of the faculty, staff, and administration who have dedicated 10, 15, 20, 25, and yes, even 35 years of service to the College.

NYCCsealandlogoThis marked the 15th such event for the College; the first took place in 2001, when Human Resources Manager Christine McDermott approached NYCC President Dr. Frank J. Nicchi with the idea of publicly recognizing the contributions and service of long-term employees. Honorees are treated to lunch, during which their contributions are noted, and presented with a gift in thanks for their years of service to the College. Those recognized are then further honored by being given the remainder of the day off.

NYCC has been named by the Chronicle of Higher Education as a “Great College to Work For” for the past six years. Dr. Nicchi noted that this distinction is borne out by the number of people who remain employed by the College for many years. According to McDermott, there are approximately 17 current employees who have been with NYCC since 1990. In fact, some who recently retired (or are nearing retirement) accumulated between 20 and 40 years at NYCC. “It really says something about the feeling of family at NYCC,” said Nicchi.

Dr. Nicchi was honored at this year’s luncheon for his 35 years of service to the College, acting as a member of the faculty, Dean of the Postgraduate Department in Levittown, on Long Island, and then moving upstate to Seneca Falls and taking on the presidency of the College in 2000. “It’s never been about location,” he explained, “It’s always been about the people.”

Others honored at this year’s event were: (10 years) Terry Baity, Rosa Cona, Anita Cowles, Patricia Kaska-Caver, Dr. William Lauretti, Joan Lynch, Kimberly McCrea, Karen Quest, and Jennifer vonHahmann; (15 years) Jannette Elster, Carol Faivre, Melodie Loughney, Katherine Maine-Radka, Dianna Marechaux, Jeanne McCann, Scott Rogers, and Joan Tyler; (20 years) Cynthia Anderson, Victoria Baroody, Dr. Lisa Bloom, Dr. Fiona Jarrett-Thelwell, Dr. Chithambaram Philomin, Dr. Raj Philomin, Katherine Robson, Barbara Thomas, and Margaret VanKirk; and (25 years) Kathryn Albanese, Roger Kreiss, Timothy Millis, William Wayne, and Diane Zink.

Leave a Reply